Councillors and Committees

To view Councillors, Ward Boundaries, Committees and Organisational Structure please see below.

Conargo Shire Council has eight councillors. Council's Mayoral Election is held annually.

General Council elections are held every 4 years. The next General Election is to be held in 2016.

What is the role of a councillor?

Councillors are governed by the Local Government Act 1993 which defines their role section 232.

Section 232 What is the role of a councillor?

(1) the role of a councillor is, as a member of the governing body of the council:

  • to provide a civic leadership role in guiding the development of the community strategic plan for the area and to be responsible for monitoring the implementation of the Council's delivery program
  • to direct and control the affairs of the council in accordance with this (the Local Government) Act
  • to participate in the optimum allocation of the council's resources for the benefit of the area
  • to play a key role in the creation and review of the Council's policies and objectives and criteria relating to the exercise of the Council and its delivery of services, and the delivery program and revenue policies of the Council
  • management plans and revenue policies of the Council

(2) The role of a councillor is, as an elected person:

  • to represent the interests of the residents and ratepayers
  • to provide leadership and guidance to the community
  • to facilitate communication between the community and the council

"Becoming a Councillor" Publication

The Division of Local Government and the Local Government and Shires Association of NSW provide the "Becoming a Councillor" publication. The publication gives an overview of local government and what a councillor's role is.