Road Classifications

Various classifications of Rural Roads exist within the Shire.

State Road - Cobb Highway and Riverina Highway are maintained and controlled by the Roads & Traffic Authority.

Regional Roads - Owned and maintained by Conargo Shire Council - MR552 (Conargo Road), MR296 (Barratta Road), MR319 (Maude Road) with funding by a block Grant and repair program from the Roads & Traffic Authority.

Local Roads - Dedicated roads owned and maintained by Conargo Shire Council.
These are split between sealed and unsealed roads.
The level of maintenance performed on roads is determined by a Road Hierarchy System which has been determined by Council.

Crown Roads - Roads owned by NSW State Government are administered by Department of Lands.